FMP – Creating the 20sec Youtube Advertisement

Subject - Year 3, Uncategorised

As a part of the promotional campaign, I wanted to ensure that all platforms would be covered. Instead of creating a TV advertisement, I decided to use Youtube as the platform. Youtube ads are usually around 20 seconds to a minute long and pop up at various times during a normal Youtube video. The shorter advertisements are usually unskipable, whereas longer ads are able to be prematurely ended. Youtube is extremely popular amongst the gaming community as there is a large amount of professional gamers which post videos there. With this in mind, I was believed that I would be able to reach the correct target audience if I were to create an ad for this platform.

For my advertisement, I decided to opt for a shorter video as it would be unskipable – which means the viewer would have to watch the entire thing. I felt that it was important for the viewer to see the whole video as it would provide better context about the software. Furthermore, a shorter video with snappy transitions ensures that the viewer is more likely to fully engage with the video.

Visual inspiration

During my research into gaming platforms, I noticed that Twitch often use this ‘repeating’ style – where they use the same text and display it over and over again. This style of design isn’t dedicated to Twitch as I have seen it in design many times before. However, I feel that it draws in the attension of the viewer as they are eager to read its contents. In addition, it applies emphasis to any message – which is something I wanted to do myself. Due to the fact that I do a very similar thing with ‘repeating’ Modifyx’s slogan on the software’s homepage, I wanted to try and implicate this style within my own design. My instant reaction to this style was that it had great potential within a moving context. I thought about how the text could easily be interchangeable and fun with how it could move on screen. By adding this style into my short video ad, I hoped I would be able to capture the audiences attention in a unique and interesting way.

The Final Video

Overall, I believe the final outcome is very effective. It catches your attention from the start due to the catchy music, bold colours and interesting visuals. These were my exact intentions throughout the process and I was happy that I was able to achieve them in the final result. Although, the video can be fast paced, its simplicity allows the viewers to be able to easily retrieve the exact information they need moving forward. The video also appears professional and its overall appearance is cohesive with the software’s current branding – thus ensuring continuity.

The message of the video is conveyed through the brand slogan “fyx the…”. These simple short sentences allow the viewer to read through them quicker and therefore allows them to easily understand the software’s intention.

Credits are listed in the video’s description on Youtube)

Leave a comment